Ordnance Survey Maps
OS Maps of Longford
The Archives Service holds two series of 27 maps covering all of Longford, at the scale of six inches to one mile. The first series was produced in 1837 and the second was the revision of 1913-14. They have fascinating detail, including field boundaries, buildings and archaeological sites. The original survey work was generally done in 1835-36 and the information was recorded in 'field name books'. They are arranged by civil parish (generally equivalent to Church of Ireland parish) and have interesting information, including about the origin of the place-names. The contents of the Longford books are in the Placenames section of this site.